LRH&S Caliber and rifle selection help.

WyoHanz

I am new to the whole long range hunting scene. However I have messed around with my .223 and .308 at 1000 yards. I am looking into getting a new rifle for hunting and general shooting out to 1000-1200 yards. I will use it mainly for elk, antelope, and deer hunting and if the selection allows, load down for coyotes and such. I do reload but being a college student I don't have the funds that some others may have. I like the idea of a short mag but am still up for suggestions as far as the caliber goes.

As far as brand selection goes I have a Savage 223 and a Howa 308 that I have no issues with. I was looking into the Tikka T3 series and wouldn't mind having one of those. I am not partial to any specific brand and would gladly buy anything that shoots well out of the box. That being said I do have a limited budget and was looking at spending no more than $1200 when it is all said and done with rifle, optics, and accessories. There is a gunsmith here that makes brakes that he guarantees 80% recoil reduction and was looking at getting one of those installed.

With the Vortex scope and muzzle brake I am looking at $700 for the rifle. Thanks in advance and any help would be appreciated!

I'm fairly new to long range shooting as well, but I have been shooting for a while and reloading for about 2.5 years now...

As a college student, I definitely understand having to do things on a bit more of a limited budget than others who may have a career. However, I do think you can get a great set-up for your price.

I bought a Remington Sendero in 7mm Rem. Mag about a year ago and it has been a pleasure to shoot. It took me a bit to find the right load, but once I did, putting bullets into the same hole at 100 yards is no problem. I shopped around and found my Sendero online for $1050 which was about $150 less than most local stores BEFORE tax.