Looking for advice on a lifelong rifle purchase

Hawkeyeguy

Greetings my most knowledgeable compadres..

I'm new to rifles. I've bird hunted my whole life, and am pretty handy with a sidearm, but the one thing I've never done much of in my life is rifle shooting. No one in my family ever hunted for four-legged game.

Now, I'm not coming in to these forums completely blind. I've done my fair share of research, and dare say I know a thing or two now enough to understand advice. However, I'm stuck in a rut as far as choosing a rifle goes.

Here's what I'm looking for in so many words:

First and foremost I need a hunting rifle. One that is reliable from the start, but that can evolve as my skill (and wallet) grows. I want to be able to take down pretty much any game from deer, goat, boar, elk, small bears, etc.. and I want to one day be good enough to take shots 500+yds confidently.

The other side of this is that I want to get into precision target shooting. For long range hunting practice, but also because I'm the kind of person who needs to constantly be pushing boundaries, and shooting at typical hunting distances will become boring after some time. Especially with a great rifle.

Taking these things into consideration, I'm pretty steadfast on the .300 winmag as of now, having read that it offers a lot of room for variability, but I'm open to similar cartridges, and I'm planning on investing in reloading equipment as soon as I have my rifle where I want it to be. I've read on tons of rifles, but I haven't been able to find the one that jumps out at me more than the others. Please help!!

Here's my basic criteria..
-Light enough to carry on mountain hunts.
-Heavy enough that the recoil isn't absurd.
-Accurate enough right out of the box for decent range results.
-Customizeable.
-Below $1500 (2000 if it's worth it)

Welcome. I spent my life bird hunting and guiding primarily for bird huts so I know where you are coming from.