lookimg for a new cartridge in a gun

Blaketh

I am trying to pick between a 6.5-300, 27 nosler, and a 28 nosler. Looking for a flat round that can take just about any game in North America. What are the advantages and disadvantages? Mostly will be white tail which is a bit over kill but also want a Elk gun, bear or whatever else I may get a chance to hunt. Currently I can shoot out to about 400 yards, I'm no ballistics expert so that is why I chose a flat high SD round. Hopefully will learn to reload in the coming weeks so I can make my own. Also, not wanting to go crazy on the rifle spend maybe $2,000 plus the optic. Any help is appreciated.

Looking for a flat round that can take just about any game in North America. What are the advantages and disadvantages? Mostly will be white tail which is a bit over kill but also want a Elk gun, bear or whatever else I may get a chance to hunt.

Personally, I suggest getting a solid .300 Win. Mag. since it is extremely flexible as a cartridge and there is a wide variety of bullets when you start reloading. There is also a fantastic selection of commercially available ammunition from nearly every maker so you can shoot while developing your reloading set up.

Nearly every rifle maker, commercial or custom can and does have a .300 Win. Mag. in their line up. Just be careful selecting the twist rate in case you want to shoot the really long VLDs. You can download it for short range practice loads up to the top of the pressure scale for those bad boy grizzlies and heavy for caliber bullets. And besides, there won't be any shortages since it is a cartridge used by the military.

Enjoy!

Since you have it on your list. 27 Nosler with new 150 regular Accubonds or 165 Long range Accubonds sounds sweet.