Lens Question for Len

Craig Dodd

I have the good fortune of living within about 90 miles of West Yellowstone and Jackson Hole. I am a longtime amature photographer and I just retired. I intend to buy a big Nikon lens and have settled on the 200mm - 400mm f4 zoom (I think that I could have had Kirby build me a big 338 for less money than this lens) to go along with my new D200. The D200 came with the 18mm-200mm Nikon zoom with vibration reduction. I also realize that a big lens needs a serious tripod (Gitzo GT-3530LSV and a Wimberley head). Long range photography is sort of like long range shooting in that everything costs more (alot more). So here is the $64 question, do you think that between these two lenses that I will be pretty well setup for wildlife photography? If not, what am I missing. In addition, what are your feelings on the Nikon 1.4 teleconverter? Does it provide a true benefit or does it just soften the resolution of a great lens?

Thanks, Craig Dodd
in SE Idaho

Craig

I have the 200-400VR lens and like it a lot. In fact I used it several times out here in Rocky Mountain National Park this week. Elk, deer and full-frame coyote. Nothing great in wildlife. I am here this time for scenics.

That lens is considered by many to be the best mammal lens on the market. The 1.4 extender works well with it. Normally when using an extender you may want to stop down one stop, although I don't. I have seen reports saying that this lens is so sharp that you don't have to stop down one stop with an extender. I would suggest you buy the 1.4 extender.

The elk bugle season is right around the corner, especially for you being so close to Yellowstone. So get off the couch and get out there. We'll look forward to seeing your shots next month.

Re Lens Question

Len,