Introduction and Load Density Question

scoutm

First, I would like to say hello. I've been a lurker for a while spending most of my on-line time on other forums but decided to sign up and post on this site as there is so much valuable information shared here. So, first and foremost thanks for sharing all the great information.

I would also like to pose what hopefully will be a quick question. I'm new to reloading so bare with me if I'm using terminology incorrectly. I'm working up a load for my favorite rifle – 300 WSM. It's a very accurate rifle with the right ammo. I've found the rifle's "Sweet Spot" at 2,975 Ft/Second – doesn't seem to matter what bullet at that speed I'm averaging sub-MOA groups. As I go above or below that speed the groups spread out quite a bit. So now that I have the stage set here's my issue - I want to shoot the TTSX 168gr Bullet. I've chosen two powders H4350 and H4831SC. To get the velocity into the right zone the Load density on the H4350 is low in the lower 80% range - I'm still getting the accuracy but each round sounds like a baby rattle. The H4831SC the load density is very high and I hear a "crunch" when I seat the bullet to the desired depth. So are these issues to be concerned with or should I just run with it. As Powder is so hard to come by I'd really prefer not to try to find a powder between these two. Any recommendations? Is either issue really an issue?

hello and welcome.

IMHO a compressed load has a major disadvantage... if you have low neck tension you will have a hard time getting a consistent seating depth. Generally speaking the better powders for a given bullet cartridge combination will usually be pretty full. However, as boomtube said if it works it works.