Imr powder in metal cans still good?

I'm still using a metal container of IMR 4064 from the mid 90's. You should be able to detect an acrid smell and/or rust color if it's bad. Like mentioned previously it's all about storage. Obviously I don't use IMR 4064 too much but have been testing it in some loads recently. I love the $12.95 price sticker!

I'm still using a metal container of IMR 4064 from the mid 90's. You should be able to detect an acrid smell and/or rust color if it's bad. Like mentioned previously it's all about storage. Obviously I don't use IMR 4064 too much but have been testing it in some loads recently. I love the $12.95 price sticker!

Oh wouldn't that price be nice!

I definitely would have traded if the cans weren't rusty and he was the first owner

I still have a 3lb. red can of Unique powder that I have been pecking away at for the past 20+ years and it still works just fine for me and my .45s; 5.5gr over 200gr SWC, But.....it has been stored in a cool, dry basement. I've also got some IMR 4064 kicking around down there also, it all works just fine. I wouldn't shy away from powder just because it is in cans.

With proper storage it will last longer than you realize. I am finishing up a bottle of Unique that is pushing 40 years old that I got from my uncle that started me reloading. It works fine for target practice and have had no issues with it. For self defense loads I would use something fresher though just for peace of mind.

I got some IMR 4320 in trade. It may be a little dusty but it chronographs at the velocity and ES you would expect. I'm using what I perceive to be the oldest can first.
20210315_162418.jpg

Oh wouldn't that price be nice!

I definitely would have traded if the cans weren't rusty and he was the first owner
$12.95, reminds me of the price sticker on my "old" Lyman D7 scale, 11.95. I still have a couple of old IMR powder cans used exclusively for my wife .17 Rem. Still fine. I