Howa 1500 Build

BLOODHOUND BRO

First off, this is my first post. Want to say this a great forum I have been using as a resource for many years.

I am planning on doing a build (my first build) on a Howa 1500 chambered in 270 Win that I currently own. I have a smith that will do the work. The only mod I have done so far is add a Timney trigger. I have owned this rifle for 10 years and have fired many rounds through it working up loads, hunting and target shooting out to 500 yds. It shoots +/- MOA at 100 yds.

My goal is build a fairly light (8 lb range) rifle suitable for shooting to 800 yds. My first considerations are to replace the stock and barrel. This is where I am looking for recommendations. I am considering Mcmillan and Manners for the stock. Any recommendations on model or procedures I should add to the stock (bedding, etc.)? I am clueless as to a barrel choice other than I know a couple of guys who have had good luck with Douglas. Any recommendations on brand and or contour? Lastly, are there any other procedures i should be considering to get this rifle shooting as good as it can?

Sorry for the lengthy post. Thanks again in advance.

Other than the trigger, what else have you done to it?
What stock are you currently using?
And did you plan on keeping it as a 270 Win?

No modifications other than the trigger. It currently has the black synthetic "hogue" stock.

I had planned on keeping it 270 Win. I am not really familiar with the process of rechambering rifles with the same action. I understand it would need to be a long action, but is the only requirement? Could I go to a 280 AI or 7 mm Rem Mag with just a barrel change?

I have 3 Vanguards in 270, so I'm moderately familiar with your rifle. :D

If it were me I'd do the same thing I have before -

Switch to a Bell & Carlson Medalist stock.
Bed the action.
Free float the barrel.
Be sure to adjust the Timney to 2 pounds.
Shoot sub-moa groups with factory ammo all day long.