Good powder for 7mm RM and 168gr Bergers

Tater1985

I am going to be reloading some 168gr Bergers for my 7mm RM soon. I have been reading about different types of powders and the results people have been having with them. It seems like the most common findings are:

4350 or similar for light to med wt bullets

4831 or similar for med to heavy wt bullets

H1000/Retumbo for heavy wt bullets

I am looking for a powder that is extremely temp stable and has lowest ES. Just want it to be flat out consistent. I am not as worried about the absolute hottest velocities. I would much rather take shot to shot variance out of the picture. As you can tell from all my research and quite vague summary of findings, I'm a total noob. Thanks for any feedback.

BTW, will I see much difference between H4831 and H4831-SC? If so what are pros and cons.

From what your asking I will say I believe H4831sc is what your looking for with standard primers, fed210Ms being your best bet most likely. The sc is easier to meter, has a similar rate to Imr7828.

I've been very happy using Retumbo with the 168 VLD's. I shoot 71.5gr, but you will want to start out lower - maybe around 69gr and work up... especially if you have a factory chamber.

BACKWOODS83, I have a rifle that I purchased for the sole purpose of shooting 168 Bergers. I tried 22, 7828, and finally settled on H1000. My gun is tight chambered apparently, and I am getting 2977 fps,using 67.5 grains.
I am using a " standard" WLR primer. The gun likes these primers more than the mag primers. H1000 is supposed to be a Extreme powder. I believe that to be factual due to the fact that I developed the load in 50 degree weather, and I shot a whitetail in July on a crop damage hunt in 94 degree heat. No pressure signs, no change in impact. Two kills, one at 366 yards, and one at 209. My load is a little on the mild side, but it is incredibly accurate and predictable. Hopes this helps. AIM SMALL, MISS SMALLlightbulb gun) 7STW.