Getting 243 AI But Which Twist Rate

mjbine

I was think about getting 1:8 twist and was going to shoot DAC 115gr or 107gr SMK but with 1:8 what would be the lightest bullet I could shoot?

Also what would be better 26", 28" or 30" barrel. I heard there is not much difference in fps between 26 to 30. Is that true? I am just starting out and reading as much as I can to learn.

Thanks

Mike

Mike you can shoot the 55gr Nosler ballistic tips out of a 243 Ackley with a 1-8 faster than the bullets can stand , mine I could get right to 4000fps before they would blow up , I had better accuracy with the 75gr V-max at the 3700-3800 fps range than the 55gr bullets though. I think that the 1-8 is the best twist for that case as it allows you to use about every bullet out their.
As for the barrels I'd get the longest barrel you can , if you get a heavier barrel with the long 4"-5" shank that will allow you to cut a couple inches off the rear end and rechamber after the throat gets worn.

I'm getting mine built with a 1/8 Broughton 5c. I am going to shoot the 105gr Bergers, and probably the 87gr V-max, maybe the 75's also. It should be done it about 2 months, so I'll post what I find out.

All the ones we've built recently have had 1/8. The only one that has a problem shooting lighter bullets is one Lilja....it likes to eat the 87gr V-max. The other Lilja, Krieger, and Broughton all shoot the small bullets just fine. We've recently pushed the 62gr Varmint Grenades over 4000fps through the Broughton. They all seem to really like the 105 Bergers though.

All the ones we've built recently have had 1/8. The only one that has a problem shooting lighter bullets is one Lilja....it likes to eat the 87gr V-max. The other Lilja, Krieger, and Broughton all shoot the small bullets just fine. We've recently pushed the 62gr Varmint Grenades over 4000fps through the Broughton. They all seem to really like the 105 Bergers though.