first time bedding, savage 111 LRH

shawn338lapua

I am wanting to bed my savage 111 LRH 338 lapua. I have never done this before so tips would be great! Some of the more specific questions i have include..

How much material will i need to remove?
does the aluminum base in the accustock create any challenges? (all the videos i have seen were on wood stocks)
favorit brands of glass?
Should i bed any of the barrel or leave the entire thing free floating?

Any help would be appreciated.
Thank you

I don't think The accustock is a good candidate to bed. Have you removed the receiver from the stock? They're such a void between the aluminum chassis and the bottom of the receiver it'll take a ton of bedding compound. You don't have to worry about removing any material it's nothing like any of the videos you've watched on Wood stocks. If I was you I would check to make sure the barrels free floated and I would play with the torque on your action screws I believe that good groups will be attainable without bedding. I have a LRH and wanted to bed the recoil lug but... The above stopped me, I think the savage design, particularly the lug area is poor. There is not enough surface area for the recoil lug to engage the chassis. I can't understand why they didn't leave a little more aluminum there for the lug to set against. If your rifle shoots great right now I wouldn't remove your stock. If it doesn't shoot I would play with the torque on the action screws first. If you must remove your stock and your rifle is shooting good, use a torque wrench starting low probably around 20 pounds; meassure the torque that is on the action screws before you remove them. That way when you put it back together you can just torque it properly to a known torque that shoots. I know this from experience in having a good shooting rifle and not having accuracy after stock removal. As far as bedding, I wouldn't waste your time.