First Go with 180 grain Scirocco II

skip4502

Went to the range today with for loads of H1000 and 180gr Scirocco IIs. I've only been shooting 3 round groups lately due to the shortage (read: complete unavailability) of supplies. As you can see, this was a pretty poor day. Much of it is likely the reloader and shooter, but I like to think I can snug them up a little better than this.

I shoot my rounds out of the prone off a bipod because until about 5 months ago I'd never really toyed with it. I'm still learning down there. Nevermind the bottom group here, but is this pretty bad at 100? Didn't take the chrono out today, so I'm not sure what my mvs are.

For what it's worth: I use a CZ 550 UHR in 300 win mag with a mini muscle break.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    137.4 KB · Views: 109
My thought would be to load up 4 or 5 rounds of the load on the right. Take them to the range, chronograph too. Then shoot a group taking your time, minimum 2-3 minutes between shots, making sure every shot is the one you want, want to eliminate the shooter in the equation.
Are you using a rear bag?

No, I don't have a rear bag yet. I've been shooting at 100 yards for the past 6 months, and it's driving me nuts not to be able to stretch it out, but with performances like this, I'll just get more frustrated if I do.

My best load this far has been 168 gr VLD with 69.5 gr H4350. My 5 shot group is usually .92 with 4 shot group at .70. I usually seem to throw one. Anyway, I'm completely dry on H4350. It's been back ordered for about three weeks now.

I reload with, hold your laugher, a Lee Hand Press and collet dies. My reloading equipment is a lot like my rifle, I'm learning the process first before I upgrade. Also, are boresnakes bad to use? Thanks again.