FINALLY Got To Shoot My 338 Ultra mag Part 2

G

GNERGY

Here is part 1
http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f17/finally-got-shoot-my-338-ultra-mag-55554/

After not having much luck with the Nosler 250 grainers, I decided to go with Barnes 225 TTSX with RL25 powder.
My friend with 338 Win. mag loads them .050 off the lands and says they shoot great so that is where I started.
I started out with 97grs. and went up in 1/2 grain increments.
I scrubed the barrel out and fired 5 foulers that are included in the first pic.
The temps were around 80 degrees when I started shooting and above the 90's when I left the range on saturday. The wind was gusting at 10 mph plus.
I was doing my testing at 300 yds and chroned all rounds.
Let the barrel cool down to outside temps between shots.
The 97gr loads averaged 3320 fps.
The 97.5 gr loads averaged 3360 fps.
The 98 gr loads which I shot only 2 avg. 3386 fps. It was getting too hot out and I called it a day. The bolt was getting a little hard to open, but I don't know if it was the loads or the hot outside temps causing that.
I loaded 6 rounds to shoot 3 at each target to ladder test.
How far off the lands are you guys seating them at.
Are you guys using different powders.
Tarey
DSCN1869.jpg

DSCN1871.jpg

That's my target at 300 yds thru the Burris Black Diamond.
DSCN1888.jpg

DSCN1886.jpg

I use a lot of Re powder but in hot weather I have to stay with the hodgdon extreme powders
to avoid pressure spikes.

Your velocities are good but don't get hung up on one powder. (all rifles like one powder
better than another).

I use both the 225 and the 250 accubond in my 338 RUM with great accuracy and velocity.

All of my hunting loads are .020 COAL under max magazine length. and loads are worked up
with these lengths.

J E CUSTOM