defective HORNADY 338 LAPUA 285 GR

Re: The sun is falling _defective Hornady 338 LAPUA 285 GR

It would be terrific if no company ever manufactured a defective item. But how much do you want to pay to receive this guarantee? Use the defective shell as a clean bore fouling shot? Or wait until Hornady compensates for the defective item?

My local gunsmith recently received some Nosler 7mm STW shells from a customer, along with the customer's rifle. The customer asked the smith to figure out why the primers were falling out of the fired factory loads. After much discussion, analysis & testing, disassembly of shells and weighing of powder charges, firing different factory ammo thru the rifle - it was as simple as these Nosler factory shells were overloaded with too much gunpowder. Firing was swelling the case heads about 0.005". That's more serious than a defective case neck - no?

I've been reloading for more than 45 years, and I've seen defective ammo in the past. Multiple times. Defective factory rounds. Defective boxed bullets for reloading. It's not ideal. If anyone has the expectation that manufacturers never produce a defective - less than perfect - product, perhaps the expectations are overly idealistic. Both Nosler and Hornady have replaced boxes of bullets for me in the past that didn't measure up to their quality control specifications.

Within the past 5 years, I've received the following "defects" from the firearms and firearms support industries. Just the ones I can think of at this moment:
1) A custom aftermarket rifle stock with the wrong recoil pad,
2) A custom action with the wrong magazine well cutout,
3) Custom reloading dies - took 3 attempts to get this correct,
4) A new, yet dull, chamber reamer that my gunsmith fought with trying to chamber a barrel,
5) A custom aftermarket 10.6 twist .308 barrel that was ordered as a 10-twist,
6) A box of 50 plastic tipped bullets with 7 plastic tips laying in the bottom of the box,