Custom gun building questions

I SHOOT STUFF

I'm a beginner at this concept, so I may not have the proper terminology.

Let's say I have two Savage rifles.

One is a 300 RUM with synthetic stock.
One is a 300 WIN with laminate stock and heavy fluted 26" barrel.

Is it possible to switch things up so the laminate and heavy barrel is now a 300 RUM, and the 300 WIN now has the regular barrel and synthetic? Would all these components fit in a switch???

That kind of gives me a poor man's Sendaro if I can get the RUM action and receiver onto the heavy laminate and fluted barrel.

Any info is appreciated

NO.

The chamber for the rifle is in the barrel. So the .300 win heavy bbl is the .300 win heavy bbl no matter which receiver it is screwed to. You can also open the barrel channel to accept the larger diameter barrel but if you switch back it may look awkward on the smaller barrel.

Then there is the business of getting correct head-spacing when switching savage barrels. This must be done correctly or there will be huge safety issues. If you don't know why then you are a long way off from doing it safely.

But we would be glad to help you along that journey. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif

the switch you ask of would require you to re-chamber the 300 win mag to the 300RUM , unless you have one of the very few Savages that got chambered in the small shank then the two actions have differant thread size.
Now the actions are the same size and one will swap out with the other.
The 300 win barrel could be rechambered for 300RUM but you would have to change the mag well and bolt head around from the 300RUM to the 300Win action because the 300RUM case is fatter and the bolt face larger so it won't feed from the 300Win mag. The next problem with this setup is that you barrel is going to be smaller in diameter around the chamber and that is going to limit you to any hot reloads for safty reasons.