Considering a Remington 700 SPS Long Range Any information would be helpful.

richhymas

I started shooting long range last year with a DPMS panther LR .308. I am getting good groupings at less than 1 MOA out to about 700 yards, but I am uncomfortable with the energy and velocity at that range for long range deer and elk hunting so I am looking for a good long range deer and elk rifle around $800 (gun only, I already have a scope).

Right now I am leaning towards a 300 win mag for a few reasons. ballistics tables suggest that a 190-210 grain bullet will still be going faster than 1800 FPS at 700-800 yards, providing sufficient velocity for the bullet to expand and enough energy for a clean kill with a well placed shot. I also like the availability of the Federal GMM 190 grain at 2900 FPS while I am working up a good long range hunting load. I also think shooting a 300 win mag is more affordable than a 300 RUM with less recoil. Any thoughts?

The Remington 700 SPS Long Range looks like a great option. I think it is brand new this year. Does anyone have any experience with this gun? It seems to be much like the SPS varmint in magnum calibers. What would I have to do with this rifle to get it to shoot well? What other recommendations do you recommend in this price range?

I can't speak to the new LR line; however, I would suggest that whatever you end up with to spend some time shooting the rifle prior to dumping $$ into it for accuracy. There have been a lot of people that speak to the poor quality of recently built Remington rifles - but they still kick some out that shoot. My dad bought a stainless sps last summer in 7mm Rem Mag and it flat shoots totally stock. This doesn't happen often but is possible.

The last rifle I bought, I bought knowing that it would be a good platform to build on IF it didn't perform to my specifications. It didn't and now it's a custom that does shoot.