Coldbore 1.0 ballistic software

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by Boe, May 15, 2012.

  1. Boe

    Boe Active Member

    Messages:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Anyone using Coldbore 1.0 and how does it compare to the Loadbase 3.0 ?

    Thanks Boe
     
  2. Eaglet

    Eaglet Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,779
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    So far, this is the information I have:

    CB1 = Coldbore 1.0

    · LB3 will not continue to be updated (Desktop & Mobile)
    · CB1 uses another technology to manage data
    · This is 100% incompatible to LB3's
    · CB1 is the way to PHONE for WP7
    · If you have LB3 updated to the latest version, the features are similar to CB1
    · CB1 is the current product and the one that will continue to be updated
    · CB1 is not an update/upgrade of LB3
    · The licensing system of CB1 is completely different from LB3's

    Good day!
     

  3. phorwath

    phorwath Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,896
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Hi Eaglet,
    I just learned about Coldbore 1.0. So I was checking in here to see if you had posted any information yet. Guess I'll go to the Patagonia Ballistic web site to see what Gus has to say about it. Hope life is going well.
    Paul
     
  4. Eaglet

    Eaglet Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,779
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    The very same for you Paul.

    I started a thread here also,

    http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f19/lb3-0-old-new-coldbore-1-0-patagonia-ballistics-92774/

    and some stuff going on here...

    Ballistic software, and ballistic scopes - Sniper's Hide Forums

    Take care!
     
  5. Eaglet

    Eaglet Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,779
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Just installed update 1.0.0.4 for ColdBore

    Here is a copy/paste of part of the email I received:

    This update incorporates the following additions:

    BALLISTICS Module

    The maximum range has been extended to 3500 yards/meters

    GPS/TARGTES Module

    A new feature has been introduced that allows to transfer a TARGET position as obtained in the MAPPING/COORDS sub tab to MAPPING/RANGING and TARGETS/STORE-EDIT sub tabs.
     
  6. Eaglet

    Eaglet Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,779
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    More up dates from Patagonia Ballistics for those interested.

    From the email:

    Writing.png

    I think many of us will like being able to set a target at 50 yards or whatever, then having the scope horizontal and fixed, let's say you run 125 clicks up and when measured (on the target) the reticle moved 16.5 inches. By imputing the information in the program you get the right value for you to use in the Ballistic Module where it says click setting.
    The value of 0.250 in the yellow box is for the user to tell the program what the click value is from factory calibrated to be. By clicking in that yellow area it will change between 0.125, 0.250 0.5 since for a MOA calibrated scope you'll have one of those values.
    On our example, the value of 0.248 MOA is what we would be imputting in the Ballistics module.

    Very Cool!

    capture_correction.png
     

    Attached Files:

  7. bigngreen

    bigngreen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,836
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    WOW, what a great tool to have in the program, I won't be able to resist updating to CB1 much longer!!
     
  8. phorwath

    phorwath Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,896
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    I downloaded my update also. I do like the layout of the mobile database screen better. Even though I was used to the original database screen, I think this one is less prone to opening the wrong tract.
     
  9. Eaglet

    Eaglet Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,779
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Yes! I agree.