COAL for my load?

RangerBrad

Hey fellas, I have a Marlin MR-7 in 25-06 and will be using the 115gr berger VLD. Using the Frankford OAL gauge I get a total length with the bullet laid on the lands at 3.300". Does that seem about right? I got a load data e-mail from berger ad they showed a COAL of 3.250 which seems very short for this bullet as thats 50 thousands off the lands and I believe these Bergers need to be set closer to the lands. I'm new to reloading and hope I'm reading the OAL gauge correctly. Once agin does the 3.300" COAL to lands sound right? Thank's, Brad

The conventional wisdom is that Bergers have to be loaded very close or into the lands for maximum accuracy. This is not the case. Check out the article on the Berger website about testing for bullet seating depth. I have two 6,5x284 rifles that deliver the best accuracy in the .25MOA range with seating depths in excess of .050" off the lands.

"Does that seem about right? "

Brad, what's right is what feeds, chambers easily without jamming into the lands and shoots well. It doesn't matter what 'seems about right' to any of us, each rifle is a law unto itself. ONLY you can determine what the OAL needs to be. Good luck!

Thank's fellas, I realize that coal needs to be done for each rifle. I was just wondering if the 3.300 is normal coal with this cartridge on the lands (making sure I measured right). Brad

After reading the sticky on the COAL of vld bullets that was recommended and measuring the the max coal of my rifle at 3.300 and the load manual shows a sammi length of 3.250 I be lieve I will run this test from 3.250 to 3.290 in .010 increments. That will have me not falling below sammi lengths but not into the lands either. What say yal? Thank's, Brad

You're assigning too much credit to numbers listed in manuals..
Does your manual list anything for YOUR gun?
NO, IT DOES NOT.

You can't learn reloading from a 'reloading manual'.