Build or have built, modify or have modified

Rogmay

I'm new to this web site so I thought would ask for some input, I have a tikka t3 7mm stock rifle with bedded action, 24" barrel, leupold 6.5-20, custom 1000 yard turret to my hand loads, I shoot berger 168gr bullets, it shoots anywhere from 1/2 to 1in moa, depends on the day. Never shot it much past 800yrds because it starts to open up. Big question to you is, should I look for a custom barrel and stock for a $1000, or would I be better off spending $2000 on a custom gun, put a nicer scope on it and move up to the 180 or 195 bergers. I've shot on a few rifle teams when I was younger so I'm not a stranger to shooting, just not familiar with the custom items or brands! Even been reading about the 7mm LRM, that's peeked my attention. This would be my hunting and occasionally competition gun with friends. Any thoughts you gents might have for this long range rookie would be greatly appreciated, thanks for your time.

Hi Rogmay and welcome to the forums. I haven't been long range shooting long myself but I've been trolling posts here for years.

First thing I would say to you is if you are not familiar with gunsmithing, don't try to build a rifle yourself. You could seriously injure yourself or others if it's not put together properly.

Using your Tikka action, you could spend anywhere from 1000 to 2000 dollars depending on stock and barrel you choose. I'm not familiar with Tikkas so I can't really talk about them.

When you get into having a custom rifle built from scratch, I would say you are looking at $3000 for a starting point and the sky's the limit after that. I had a 6.5x284 built for me last year which wears a Nightforce NXS scope and it was $6000 when it was finished. I'm having a rifle built in 28 Nosler this year and it's going to be about $7500 with a Nightforce scope on it. Just saying this because I think your price point of $2000 is a bit low. Good luck whichever way you go and keep us updated.