beginning of a project

Olio Tutto

i'd like to build a wildcat ... if this is the rite place to post, i have a 700 remington receiver 243/308 boltface an would like to build something in the area of 25/308 AI for target an varmit even 'maybe' deer... where to start ? maybe with a barrel maker or a gun smith..? i have never done this before an could use lots of advice.. as for my first thoughts i'd like it to be a heavy barrel of a sort, maybe a fast twist like 1-8 or 9, to carry a heavy bullet like 117-120gr. or more... with the 308 case being blown out to Ackleyor like shoulder, it will probably get a shorter neck in the process of reforming, so the throught should not be to long.. is what i have thought about so far .. but where/how to start the project

also searching around i've found a place to get dies for a 25souper.. wondering if its possible to have these dies cut to match the said AI chamber,... i guess you'd have to fire forming the cases before hand?
i guess i would have to cut both fl an the neck sizer ?

so much to think about.. maybe some of you have gone threw the process
any recomendations on smittys, barrels or whatever.. any input would be a help
Thanks...

The 25-308 and the 25-308 improved woulkd both be great rounds and should get pretty good barrel life out of it.

I'm pearsonaly building a 250 Ackley Improved for my son , with bullets in the 85-100 gr class will get very close to 25-06 factory velocioties. Take a look at this little round after the case is formed it gives some very impressive speeds with a very mild load.

What is it that your wanting this gun to do? , shoot paper at long range , deer or varmints?

I just finished a 260 Rem that is showing alot of promise for deer out to 800yds and varmints to 1500yds according to the ballistic sheets