basic scope for pigs and elk?

socalhunter

Hi folks,
I am a newbie and was attracted to this site because I need top upgrade my sons rig because he was not able to connect with a cow elk at 300 yards with a .270. I do not blame my son and I didn't want to go to much into debt but when my son gets out of boot camp in late Nov I want to reward him.

I am thinking in terms of a rig around the 1$k range and yes I just read the thread by Bruce Ventura. It is an interesting thread but I have somewhat different parameters for what I believe my son needs.

I want a rifle that can humanely take dow an elk up to 400 yards and the recoil is somewhat managable with out using a muzzle break. The 300 Win mag seems to fit that bill although on the long range rifle thread I can discuss calibers.

I want a scope that can start at 1 or maybe 2.5 power because based on my limited experience hunting pigs in Cal a pig shot can be well under 100 yards and of course can be plus 300 yards in the same area just depends on luck and opportunity . I suppose the same can be said of elk. for practical purposes such has time restraints my son and I for that matter can only go to the nearest range ( Angeles shooting range in Pacoima Ca) a few times a year so 400 yards would most likely be our long range limit. I am thinking the highest magnification I would need would be 10x but the again I am not an expert.

We currently have used Lepould scopes on our .270s but there are so many scope choices now it makes my head swim. I have heard good things about the Vortex line which does have a lifetime warranty which I know not all the mfgrs have.

Based on the collective wisdom of those who have hunted what brands and models would you folks recommend,

Thanks
Socalhunter:)

A new rifle is not a substitute for experience... it is common for inexperienced shooters to look to their equipment when there is a failure in the field, when quite often the rifles are more capable than the shooter.