Back Country LR Rifle Advise- need help!

Texan in Oregon

Im new to the LR thing. Been hunting for years and missed to many opportunities on nice game at 500-700 yards since moving out west! Looking to build a semi-custom 7mm RM. It need to be both accurate and on the lighter side as I like to back pack hunt in the Hells Canyon area of Oregon.

I know nothing about gunsmithing etc.. I was thinking about a Rem 700? The sendero is just to heavy. Any suggestions would be great. What model, what alterations etc..., should i make. I would like to keep the Gun cost under ~$1800.00. Bedding, float, triggers, stocks, mods etc.. I know I'm asking a lot but I've got to stare somewhere.

Thanks

I'd buy a rem 700 bdl, new or from a pawn shop. Buy a B&C Alaskan II stock, jewell trigger and the scope of your choice. Then spend some time working up a load and you should be good to go!

I just bought a stainless bdl 7mag sporter with leupold rings (almost new) from a pawn shop for $450. Bought a slightly used Nikon buckmasters 4.5-14x40 for $150. Tore it apart and cleaned it up, although it was not really needed. Spent 30 min throwing 4 different loads together with 168gr bergers and headed off to the range. Factory stock and heavy factory trigger gave me .40in group at 2955fps! I had planned on taking it to my smith and having the action blueprinted but..... if I get any improvement with the b&c alaskan II stock, bedding and jewell trigger I have on order I'll just call it good to go.

I'd buy a rem 700 bdl, new or from a pawn shop. Buy a B&C Alaskan II stock, jewell trigger and the scope of your choice. Then spend some time working up a load and you should be good to go!