Altitude or pressure on Eskimo ballistics program??

Discussion in 'Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics' started by Tikka Lover, Oct 2, 2008.

  1. Tikka Lover

    Tikka Lover <strong>Official LRH SPONSOR</strong>

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    For those of you that have had first hand experience with the Eskimo ballistics program, wondering which has given the most accurate results? Enter actual elevation and actual pressure or leave elevation at "0" and input actual "raw" pressure.

    I read the sticky at the top of the page about pressure and altitude and just came away more confused than ever and it was mostly talking about Exbal which I'm not using.

    Thanks for any help in advance gun)
     
  2. Savagebien

    Savagebien Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    316
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    i use that program a lot and i always put approximate elevation, within a couple hundred feet and then approximate humidity and temp. but i never gave much thot to pressure, see how much difference there is when you play around with the pressure variable, but i'd say try to get the other parts pretty close. that being temp, humidity and elevation, i think its a good idea. i think that program works rly well i used it for my drop chart for my .243. havent chrono'ed my round but i put in 2850 fps and such and get it all rite. make 1 bit of sense?
     

  3. Tikka Lover

    Tikka Lover <strong>Official LRH SPONSOR</strong>

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    It makes sense and I understand the concept. I just want to know the most accurate settings on the program. I have a hand held weather station, so I can put all the specifics in. Just don't want to throw one of them off my putting conflicting pressures (altitude pressure and station pressure).
     
  4. Mikecr

    Mikecr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,269
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Most accurate is Station(raw) pressure, with altitude left on '0'.

    Use of altitude really only comes into play if not actually measuring anything. In this case, altitude would be better than nothing. The program could guess atleast.
    But if measuring, just enter pressure and never mind altitude.
     
  5. Tikka Lover

    Tikka Lover <strong>Official LRH SPONSOR</strong>

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Thanks Mikecr. Just what I was looking for, a clear, definite answer.
     
  6. älg

    älg Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    723
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    I also enter the absolute pressure and forget about altitude.- remember not to check the "tick" areas at the bottom then.
     
  7. Jeff In TX

    Jeff In TX Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    408
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Mikecr 1+

    In the real world altitude never changes...ok maybe by an 1/2 inch or so. Barometric pressure is always changing. Buy a good hand held weather station such as a Krestel, they work fantastic and they take all of the guess work out.
     
  8. Tikka Lover

    Tikka Lover <strong>Official LRH SPONSOR</strong>

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Thanks, as stated above I have a hand held but it's not a Kestrel. I found another that is Swiss made and is way less expensive, about $80 less. It's a Skywatch Explorer 4. Found it online for $100 and it works great, super accurate.