After the animal is down

JackRabbitSquare

Well since I wore my red socks today…

Since I am new to this long range hunting stuff I was wondering how you guys go about getting an animal after it is down? Since most of my shooting has been at short ranges in dense cover we (my father, hunting partners and myself) usually rely on 4-wheelers or 6-wheelers to haul/drag the animal back to the pickup. When you get an animal at longer ranges how do you find the animal after shooting it, i.e. does someone stay and keep an eye on it while others walk over to it? And after it is all said and done do you pack the thing out, or do you rely on mechanical or animal transportation?

The way we do it....After the animal is down.We keep at least one set of big eyes on it.We then send a few of the younger guys
grin.gif
over to where it is...We talk them in with talkabout radios...And we do things the old fashion way....We just drag them out..
grin.gif

[ 09-15-2003: Message edited by: Boyd Heaton ]

If you're on a high point or identifiable location you can shoot a compass bearing... You know the distance from the ranging method (I assume you range). Walk/drive or whatever to the area of the critter and back range and bearing to get to the spot. If you need a marker at the shooting point...use flagging tape or some such. If it's getting dark... leave one of those little mag lights in the "candle" mode as a beacon. Once you give it some thought it'll be easy enough... Write down some of the thing you remember about the critter location if it's a new place and you're alone... "in line with the whatever", "critter went out of sight at the big spruce with a stumpy left limb".. you'll forget in the excitement. Jot down something about where you shot from...leave a marker is best. The key it that you know the distance "from and to" so you can always try again of you have a landmark.

Pack it out???... I shoot them for other folks...I bring them along and let them pack it/them out!