Advice on Scope Welcomed

Small Lady

Hello, I'm new to the forum, and fairly new to shooting.
Having moved from a large city, and never shooting a gun before, to living on a huge acreage, and now a gun owner.

I first bought a 22 long rifle, then a lever 30-30, but a couple weeks ago bought a Christensen Ridgeline 7mm PRC.
My new Christensen is what I want to get the scope for.
My budget is up to $5000, I've heard there are scopes that cost triple that, but they're not for me.
I know that I want at least a 50mm if not 56mm so it is bright. Magnification from say 3, 4, or 5, up to 24 or more.

Do any good scopes have built in range finders?

I'm not very good at guessing distances.

Will any scope fit on my rifle?

I have shot a few peoples rifles this past year with scopes on them, and noticed a huge amount of quality difference when looking through them, between cheap, and more expensive.

Will this rifle & scope be used for hunting, as in something you'll be carrying around?

How much would $5000 Canadian be in US dollars?

If used for hunting, some states/countries do not allow electronic targeting optical sight.

Last edited:
There are more expensive scopes to be purchased, but for MOST people the ole reliable NightForce is hard to beat. I would recommend the NX8 line and I am partial to the 4-32 X50. With the extra money saved, purchase a good quality rangefinder and you will be all set…..for the time being.

Will this rifle & scope be used for hunting, as in something you'll be carrying around?

How much would $5000 Canadian be in US dollars?

If used for hunting, some states/countries do not allow electronic targeting optical sight.
$5000 Canadian is $3700 American.

So a range finder, if built into a scope, would be illegal?

Good to know, I guess then I also buy and carry a range finder.

I will be carrying it, I love walking in the woods.

I grew up in a big city, stayed there too long.