Accuracy of Cartridge Length

Groot

Hello all,

I've been reloading for a few years now but i just recently bought a hornady comparator set to try to improve my reloading and get a better idea of how long my reloads need to be batch to batch.

I measured 6 of my remaining rounds for my 223 Rem with a 53 grain VMax over 26.6 grain of CFE223 (safe in my rifle maybe not yours, slightly over recommended max) These rounds may have been loaded into the mag box with or without rounds being fired, they may have been cycled though the action to unload the gun as well if that matters at all.

1 - 1.8585"
2 - 1.8605"
3 - 1.8595"
4 - 1.8595"
5 - 1.8590"
6 - 1.8595"

So my question is how much error is okay? Is the variation in the above measurements something to be real concerned with?

Depends on your intended purpose.
#1 is the only one I think possibly matter and that my be only at longer than100 yards.
#2 -6 I dont think you will see any difference and the only way to keep that consistency over a bigger lot of ammo is sort the bullets from base to ogive.

What does your measure represent?
Cartridge base to ogive (CBTO)?
Cartridge overall length (COAL)?
What is your tested best CBTO?

What does your measure represent?
Cartridge base to ogive (CBTO)?
Cartridge overall length (COAL)?
What is your tested best CBTO?

base to ogive, and I found my best accuracy at about 10k off the lands. But I haven't tested any jumps larger than 30k. I threw the load together and was getting 3/4 inch groups and just went with it since I was running out of time. Groups opened up when seated without any jump as well.

Depends on your intended purpose.
#1 is the only one I think possibly matter and that my be only at longer than100 yards.
#2 -6 I dont think you will see any difference and the only way to keep that consistency over a bigger lot of ammo is sort the bullets from base to ogive.