A blown barrel, what would you do?

gedsar

I had a barrel balloon/blow up on me in Feb 07. I brought the barrel straight from the manufactuer in 02ish, chambered for 284win. I'm a machinist by trade and fitted then fluted the barrel. Fired 2-300 shots with no worries, I brought a 2-8 leupold for it and was sighting it in. I fired 3 shots at target then went to check it with the rfile barrel down on passenger floor. Adjusted scope then came back to fire another 3, first shot and the barrel explodes. Pulverises my thumb, blows stock off at front action screw and blows objective off scope at end of tube. I bandage my thumb and pick rifle up off ground then head to hospital 2hrs away. All the way running over why it happened. All I could think of was an obstruction in barrel off ute floor or something to do with the fluting. The loads were all the same with no pressure signs, the fluting had more wall thickness than the Model 7 308 barrel I'd pulled off. I copt a heap of **** from mates about being a backyard gunsmith etc.