7mm RUM loading advise.

Andy W

I have a few questions for you guys as I have never shot or loaded for these big magnum cartridges. I have a lot of reloading experience but all with 22 and 24 caliber offerings (22-250, 6BR, and 6mm Rem.) The gun I purchased is a Remington LSS in 7MM Ultra Mag. I plan on starting with the 175 SMK over Reliant 25. Here are a few questions I am looking for help on;
• The way the factory has throated the chamber I cannot even come close to touching the lands, and seating the bullet out as far as I can in the magazine gets me an OAL of 3.655 with the 175SMK. I guess with the throat this long you guys never play with seating depths? Just play with the powder charge for each bullet/powder combination?
• I plan on starting with the 175 SMK. My factory twist is 9.5 and they recommend at least an 8.5 twist with this bullet. I figure with the velocity that the Ultra Mag pushes this bullet the slower twist should still work? Anyone else getting this bullet to work with the 9.5 twist?
• If looking to re-barrel in the future do you guys stick w/ SAAMI spec, or do you go with a tighter neck/chamber and neck turn?
• How many of you guys shoot your 7mm UM without a brake? My gunsmith says he can make me a brake that will have the same POI without the brake when I am hunting with it. Still on the fence with putting a brake on it.

I initially purchased this gun for the action/bottom metal only as I am a leftie and where I live it is difficult to get any gun in a left hand offering. The 7MM UM is all that they had in left hand. My initial idea was to build a 300 UM, or a 300/338 UM. I figure I have the gun now and it will take me at least 3-5 months to get the stock and barrel that I want. I may as well see if this gun shoots! If it does not do what I think it should I can simply sell the dies and go back to my initial plan.

Thanks for your time and thanks to you guys who support and give guys like myself some of your time and expertise.

Andy.