7mm Rem Mag | 168gr Accubond Long Range | Reloder-25

MAGA

Hello everyone. I have been browsering these fine forums for many years, but today I thought I would take the plunge, register, and make a post! I'm fairly new to reloading, but I'm pretty confidant in my understanding of all the logic behind different techniques, tests, etc. Either way, I'll get to my question(s).

Rifle: Sako A7
Barrel: 24.4"
Caliber: 7mm Remington Magnum
Bullet: Nosler 168gr Accubond Long Range (ablr)
Brass: Hornady
Powder: Reloder-25

Let me just say that this Sako A7 is a shooter. I've used a variety of factory ammo and it has achieved 0.5" groups @ 100 yards on numerous occasions. It is a tack driver and as long as I do my part, it'll do the rest. Note: I am not an expert shooter by any means, but I do consider myself a lucky shooter (could go more into that).

As I'm sure most of you know, Sako, and its little brother Tikka, have a detachable magazine, which consequently will limits the COAL of round/cartridge, assuming the shooter wants to use the detachable magazine as opposed to just manually feeding a round in at a time. So for purposes of this load development, I'll be using the magazine.

I did some testing to see what my max COAL for this rifle using Hornady's little OAL guage tool.
The max COAL for this rifle using the above bullet is 3.445" when measuring the tip of bullet to the base of the brass using a EZCal caliper. Where the rifling/lands actually make contact with the bullet, I'm not certain at this time (can do more testing, just haven't yet.)

The max length for inside the magazine is 3.345".

So for the above bullet combo:
max chamber/rifle COAL: 3.445"
max magazine COAL: 3.345"

for a difference of 0.100"

Now with the parameters established, let's take a look at Nosler's load data for the above bullet-caliber combo:

CSiL2pg.png

Take note of the Tested O.A.C.L. of the tested loads.
3.250"