7mm Rem Mag 162g Eld X on close shots

Toni

Hi, I wonder if this bullet will have sufficient penetration without exploding in shots at close range (40-60yards) to wild boars? Especially in this magnum caliber, I know this is not the most suitable caliber nor bullet for hogs but I only have one rifle and I use it for everything.

Any experience will be welcome.

I've got no experience with the Eld X rounds.

I've used a 7mm on a number of hogs and have been very happy with the results. It is a powerful round that works well on dropping hogs, so don't feel bad for using it. I also use a 300WM on hogs and I'm very pleased it as well. I'm not sure there is an "ideal" hog round since there are several that will work well.

Just about any 7mm round will do well on hogs with proper shot placement. I bought a bunch of Rem Core Lokts a while back and they work very will in close range shots.

They should work just fine. The weight of the bullet itself should do. Many hogs have been taken with the vmax and that has a thin jacket so I would say the eld should work fine

Hi, I wonder if this bullet will have sufficient penetration without exploding in shots at close range (40-60yards) to wild boars? Especially in this magnum caliber, I know this is not the most suitable caliber nor bullet for hogs but I only have one rifle and I use it for everything.

Any experience will be welcome.
Put it just behind and below the ear from the side or just below a horizontal line below their eyes if they are facing you and it's more than enough bullet.

I shot a nice boar last night with the little Ruger FTW .260 Rem with a 130gr Swift Sirocco II. Perfect entry and about a half inch exit wound just behind his right ear; or what was left of it.