7 mag vs 7x64

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by Valhalla, Jul 29, 2005.

1. Valhalla

Valhalla Member

Greetings from Scandinavia, Denmark!
    - and thanks for an interesting and educating site.

I´m thinking of buying a 7 mag or 7x64(preferably the last mentionned). Could anybody please enlighten me: what´s the practical difference between the two?(it´s mainly going to be used for deer and wild boar).

Thanks and greetings from Flemming, Denmark

2. scirroco

scirroco Active Member

hi valhalla
    7x64 great round,good mag capacity,no belted cases
    vhitavouri manual has listed load for 160 g nos partition at 2900fps, not far behind the rem mag, ive been shooting mine for 3 years now truly excellent round i run a swift scirroco 150g at 2950 fps kills very efficiantly!
    scirroco

3. Valhalla

Valhalla Member

Hi Scirrocco,
    and thanks for sharing your knowledge.
    When getting my 7x64 next week I´ll try the load you mentioned. Could you spare the time telling me what´s the recoil like in the 7x64(some years ago I used to shoot the "7 mag" having no problems with the recoil)?

Again: thanks for your time and effort.

Flemming

4. scirroco

scirroco Active Member

hi valhalla
    recoil can be sharpish ,though not quite as bad as a 7 mag.
    the load i use is ,,rws cases ,58 grains vit n160,fed 210m primers, i just seat my bullets level with the bottom of the case neck, my rifle is freebored which i think is standard with 7x64 my rifle is a sako very accurate.
    what rifle are you buying?
    i shoot a lot of fallow deer ,roe deer ,muntjac and use it for boar also would not change it .
    if i can help you any more pm me
    regards scirroco

5. Valhalla

Valhalla Member

Greetings again, Scirocco!
    Once again: thank you.