6x45 / .243-.223 / Information Please

pushcoguy

So I have a AR-15 stripped lower, and have been considering what I want to do (build) with it. I am pretty interested in the idea of the 6x45. I have no experience with the round, though. I have done searches and reading on this site and others, but what good or bad traits does this round exhibit?

For consideration, the purpose of this rifle is target, varmint and whitetail duty, for pretty much everyone in my family. In other words, young children and a wife that would appreciate a minimal of recoil. I do like that it's just .223 brass necked up, and that there aren't many considerations (barrel) beyond a "normal" AR-15 build.

Great little round simple to neck up from 223 brass and easy to load for.
I am on my third 6x45 AR and also have a Cooper bolt in that caliber.
Killed lots of pigs and coyotes along with a few whitetail with mine.

I'm building one for much the same reason...I have a 7-year-old daughter taking an interest and want something she can hunt deer with and possibly shoot mid-range F-class in a few years. Recoil being an issue, it seems the perfect round until she is ready for a 243Win.

I've got a McGowan barrel coming in the mail right now to Remage a donor action.

I'm building one for much the same reason...I have a 7-year-old daughter taking an interest and want something she can hunt deer with and possibly shoot mid-range F-class in a few years. Recoil being an issue, it seems the perfect round until she is ready for a 243Win.

I've got a McGowan barrel coming in the mail right now to Remage a donor action.

Yeah. I've got three girls, aged 4, 6, & 8 years, and a 7 year old boy. In other words, if the round meets our needs... the rifle(s) may see a ton of field time.

Look at a 6.8 SPC, or if you want to experiment a little, consider the Six5. Unfortunately I believe there is only one or two manufactures making that barrel at the moment, but worth a look if you want something different