650 yard Antelope

Aking

My younger brother shot his buck last night. He shot him in the butt at 650 yards. and then had to finish him off at 300
I filmed it but here it is.
I have already got criticism but this can be looked at as a learning curve as well. He has practiced 600 yards at the range before. I did notice a rush into the shot. But in the field it can be a little different, he could have got a little steadier. But in the end he was able to harvest this antelope. And the video serves as a good memory of it.

Last edited:
After watching it again it appears as if that was a cut away instead of the actual shot. Audio seems to be different between the two.

After watching it again it appears as if that was a cut away instead of the actual shot. Audio seems to be different between the two.
Yeah I filmed it on two different devices. And I have very little editing experience, I was unsure how to merge the two clips to make them sound better.

I wouldn't be too happy about that. At 650 yds you have lots of time to setup for a good shot. It looked like the shot was rushed and the shooter was not experienced enough to know not to put the barrel on the front rest. I would say not too ethical of a shot to me. I also would suggest not posting that video as it could make the sport look less than awesome.

I wouldn't be too happy about that. At 650 yds you have lots of time to setup for a good shot. It looked like the shot was rushed and the shooter was not experienced enough to know not to put the barrel on the front rest. I would say not too ethical of a shot to me. I also would suggest not posting that video as it could make the sport look less than awesome.

Agreed. Obvious inexperience and a poor shot resulted. I'm glad the animal was recovered.