6.5 PRC bullet choice

Prieto9000

I just finished my 6.5 PRC project and I'm in the process of finding a good load for it.
So far the berger 140 VLD, Elite Hunter 140 and 143 ELDX have been the most accurate bullets out of it with groups consistently being around 0.5 moa.
I built these rifle for 600yd and under white tail-aoudad hunting and bought a lot of nosler 130gr Accubond and Barnes 127 LRX bullets but so far I haven't been able to find a decent load with them.
I've had some very bad experiences using Hornady 147 ELDM on tougher game such as the Aoudad at close range (bullets not penetrating) and feel a little concerned that the bergers and eldx will have the same issues.
Should I try to find a load that make the tougher bullets work on my rifle, or just be confident that the bergers and eldx's will get the job done??

I'm in the same boat. I've loaded up 143 eldx in my rbros 6.5 prc and they shoot .25 or better, but I'm worried about close shots on elk/deer.
My intentions are to find a load with accubonds or the like that shoot close to impact with my eldx at 200 yards or less and have my first round ready to chamber a tougher bullet. If the need arises for a long shot just take that rounds out and use the eldx.

It looks like the accubonds and LRX's finally showed some future. I just had to lower the powder charge and seat them further back.

Nosler Accubond

76099A68-94E2-4D37-A9BE-2C7C6EAAD864_1_102_o.jpeg

Barnes LRX

BE38EE1E-0354-4499-9D7A-074C440F5795_1_102_o.jpeg

Can't speak to auodad but on big mulies I've had no issue with 140 vlds with a muzzle velocity of 3100.
Those **** critters are pretty hard. Shot one in the shoulder @180yds using hornady 147 ELDM @2820 fps MV and lost the animal. I clearly saw the shot right in the center of the shoulder an he ran off like nothing happened. Tried to track him for about 3 hours but couldn't find it.