45-70 Help

SArnold30

I've used Barnes in several other rifles, but this is my first time using them in my 45-70 (Marlin 1895 GBL). Currently using the 300 gr TSX FB and working up charges with IMR 4227. Using the minimum load of 38.5 gr, when I seat to the recommended COL per the Barnes manual (2.515") the bullet appears to me that it's too deep in the case and just doesn't look right to me. If they're seated to the cannelure then they're about .300" inches over max case length, so I don't think that's the solution either. Anyone have experience with these?

The two I've loaded so far chamber fine and I've included a photo of them. I don't want to load anymore until I contact Barnes tomorrow. Or is this the normal appearance for these?

Attachments

• IMG_1553.jpeg
    IMG_1553.jpeg
    205 KB · Views: 152
You are loading the WRONG Barnes bullet for the 45-70. The correct .458 300gr TSX FN bullet has a huge flat nose with a 1/2" open cavity. The correct bullet when seated properly will align a groove for crimping and will cycle through the action of a Marlin without any issues.

I shoot the Barnes 300TSX FN at 2,000 fps. Recoil is moderate and the bullet is devastating on whitetails and black bears.

Barnes called for trim length off of 2.095", but these are all the standard 2.100". I don't know as if the .005" is enough to make the difference here.

You are loading the WRONG Barnes bullet for the 45-70. The correct .458 300gr TSX FN bullet has a huge flat nose with a 1/2" open cavity. The correct bullet when seated properly will align a groove for crimping and will cycle through the action of a Marlin without any issues.

I shoot the Barnes 300TSX FN at 2,000 fps. Recoil is moderate and the bullet is devastating on whitetails and black bears.
I wondered if this was the case, but I know people have used these in 45-70 as well. Maybe I'll look at the FN instead.