308win. at 1000yds.?

jester714

I am thinking of buying (or building) a 308win. that is capable of shooting a 6in. group or better at 1000yds. My question is, is that possible, and if so do any of you guys own one, or know of a rifle that is capable doing this? I am kind of new to long range shooting, so this is the first part of my research.

Landon

I've got a couple 308's that could shoot sub 6" groups at 1000yds if the conditions were perfect but generaly they run around 10" mostly due to wind drift. I shoot 175gr bullets 95% of the time , they have done well for me and I never realy had the urge to try any others. Some guys say that they can't get the 168gr bullet to stay stabilized out to 1000yds , don't know , never tried it. If I were goin to build a 308 just to shoot to 1000yds then I'd build it on 28-30" barrel 1-10 twist , chambered for 308 Ackley improved to squzze that last little bit of effeciency out of it and have the chamber throated for 190gr Berger VLD's so that the base of the bullet is just at the neck shoulder junction. This will give the most case capacity with a bullet than has a great BC. With a good barrel in the 30" range and the proper cut chamber you should be able to get close to 2700fps .