308 winchester with heavy VLD bullets

davisdewald

hello everyone

I am new to the site and wanted to get some of your input on something I have been thinking about. I am having my first custom gun built and will be ready in April. I wanted to get some loads made up to experiment with when the rifle is ready. My rifle is going to be a tactical style rifle that I will be using at the range and hunting with as well. It is a 308 win built around a defiance deviant action and benchmark 20 inch barrel with a 1 to 10 twist. I like to shoot heavy bullets. I have been reloading now for a few years but haven't had any experience with the 308 cartridge. I was thinking the 190 or 210 vlds. My question is has anybody tried anything similar? What kind of velocities do you get? What components do yall use that work well with a similar set up? Also, the deviant action is cut for AW mags and I just picked up 2 of them. I know those VLD bullets like being right up on the rifling. Do you think the COAL will be too long for the AW mags? If they are how much of a difference in accuracy will I see if I seat them a little deeper to fit in the mag?

Any input yall can give will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

If the barrel hasn't been cut yet, I'd consider going longer. At least 24. 26 is better. You can really spit 190s out in a 26" tube. 2700-2750'sec is common with the longer barrels. Another favorite if mine is the 208 amax. These expand at lower velocities than the vld. Getting 2600+.

For the 190, H4350 can be good. VV-N540, 550 and RL17 are awesome. For the 210 class, VV N-550 and RL17 are tough to beat. Varget, 4064, 4320, RL15 also work fairly well.

M

208 AMax is my go-to bullet in the 308 Win.

I have a standard load that works well in two Rem 700 Varmint 308s.

Moly'd 208 AMax
49.0gr RL17
Win brass
CCI 200
3.08" OAL

Velocity in summer runs about,
2575 fps from 20.5" bbl (older barrel, 4K+ rounds)
2620 fps from 22" bbl (newer barrel)