.308 loads

Greywolf18

I have a Remmy 700 SPS Varminter in .308 that I want to start reloading for. I just got reloading stuff for Xmas, and so I'm new to this "addiction" as my uncle calls it :D I am waiting on my dies and brass to get here, but am wondering if anyone has a good load for me to start out on? I have some Varget powder that I got for my .223, but haven't seen anyone using that for the .308. I bought 165gr Hornady SST bullets. This gun seems to shoot the 168gr Silvertips in 3 shot 100yd grps that range from I could cover them with a penny to just over 1". Only thing I've done is got rid of the crappy stock and put a B&C Medalist stock on it. Thanks for the help!

I found this on Hodgdon's web site. Tons of reloading data can be found there for the .308 win and others. A reloading manual (or 2) is always a good idea. Data posted on the internet should be verified with a reliable source and approached carefully. Well meaning posters do occasionally make mistakes.

165 GR. HDY SP Hodgdon Varget .308win - 42.0gr - 2,582 ft/sec - 40,800 CUP

46.0C gr - 2,773 ft/sec - 50,500 CUP

greywolf18, welcome to the addiction.