300 wsm load for black bear

Msax80

What would you guys suggest for a load for black bear?

Shooting a Tikka T3 lite in 300 wsm. I would be surprised if I am looking to shoot past 600 yards by the time the hunt roles around in May.

This is my 300 WSM bear load.

200 gr Nosler Accubond .045 off the lands
62.8 grains RL17
Fed 210M
Norma brass

This load runs right at 3000 fps

Took one at 211 yards this year with this. Bang flop. Plus an extra just because it was a bear. Wasn't needed though.

210 Berger Hunting VLD. Kissing the lands
59.6 gn RL17
Fed 215M
Norma brass
Running 2900 FPS

So I am new to reloading. What are the differences between the two bullets suggested?
Difference between the primers?

So I am new to reloading. What are the differences between the two bullets suggested?
The bullets are very different in shape and internal construction. The Berger is very pointy and ususally wants to be closer to the lands and grooves if not touching or even slightly forced in. The Nosler is more "normal" and wants to be a little back from the lands and grooves.

The primers are similar but the 215M is for "magnums" and the 210M is "Normal". In a WSM because of the short powder column, the choice of magnum primer vs. normal primer is IMO weather conditions, personal and gun driven. For target work, I found much better consistency with 210M primers but if I were hunting in sub freezing weather I'd use the 215M.

Another thing to note is that both of the loads are pushing max loads and you probably won't find these loads in a handloaders book. Main reason is that most loads for 300 WSM and RL17 don't use over 180 gr bullets. But it does work well with 200 gr bullets as these loads prove. So, follow the handloaders rules and start the loads low and work up. 5% to 10% lower than max is a good place to start. I believe I started working up this load at 57 gr.