300 wsm case capacity question.

robinstan

I had pac-nor make a barrell for my savage mbvss in the 300 wsm chamber. My obsevation is and I am new at this is that my loaded cartridge overall length from case bolt face to ogive is now 0.090" shorter than the factory barrel I removed. I no longer have the case capacity that I did have before. I was shooting H4831 @71.5C with the nosler 180 accubond and it shot .4 grps at 100yds. Has anyone run into this situation before? My other question is has any one been shooting the Berger vld bullets in the 300wsm and if so what wieght bullet and powder manufacturer and grains of powder and primer are you using and with what results. The pac-nor barrel I have is the super match 28" polygonal rifling tappering from 1.020" to 1.050" at the muzzle. Thanks for any information you may have.

Just a correction to what I posted earlier. From case bolt face to ogive is where the bullet is just contacting the rifling and 1.120" to 1.050". Thanks

Case capacity has often been difficult to deal with. And there's several ways it gets measured, too.

For example, a new case at minimum dimensions will have a smaller volume inside than a fired case from a chamber that's at the large limits of specs for the cartridge chamber dimensions. And after the fired case is sized, its insides will have less volume because parts of the case have had their dimensions reduced.

And depending on how case capacity is measured stirs the pot, too. Some folks measure it by filling the case with water all the way to the mouth. Others only fill it to the neck-shoulder junction.