26 Nosler load advice

clark33

I recently purchased a 26 Nosler from MOA Rifles. Got the load data from the gunsmith and could not produce groups better that 1.75"-2" with what he gave me.

Load he gave me:
140 Berger VLD
74.5gr H1000
Norma or Nosler brass
Fed 215 primers
seat 0.020-0.025" off lands

So, after doing some reading I decided to give Retumbo a try. I am using 140 Berger VLDs, 77gr of Retumbo, Nosler Brass, FED 215 primers, and I am seating them 0.020" off the lands.

This load showed great potential. I shot a group of 7 with 4 min between each shot, 4 were clover leafed and the other 3 were spread within .25" to .5" of the group of 4 (most likely due to me). But I also noticed my primers were a little flat and cratered where the firing pin struck. But no sticky bolt.

I am fairly new to reloading and would like some advice as to what my next step should be. I was thinking of knocking the load down to 75.5gr of Retumbo and seating some at 0.010, 0.030, 0.050, and 0.070, seeing which of those groups best, then work the charge up from there.

Any tips or advice?

Thanks

Do you have an actual measurement of the distance to the lands or are you going off of a spec? Check the crown? Have chrono data? Have you shot sub-MOA on a capable rifle before (ie; is it user error)?

Make sure that what you're using for metering the powder is consistent, my RCBS thrower doesn't like the long grains like H1000 or IMR 4064 and can have very inconsistent throws.

I am measuring from the lands and using hornady bullet comparator to get my measurements from the ogive. I have shot sub moa in a capable rifle before but I am not saying I am without my short comings at the range on any given day. I have the rcbs quick charge and rcbs digital scale, I am very careful when calibrating the scale and check constantly to make sure it is maintaining its zero.

I haven't checked the crown and wouldn't know what I was looking for if I did to be honest.