257 Weatherby mag

JohnnyL

Hello I'm new to the group.

I'm looking to reload for my .257 Weatherby mag using Hornady 110 grain eld-x. Haven't had any luck finding any load data yet. Planning on using H-1000. Looking for a safe starting point.

Welcome. My .257 was my first custom and first one to load for. Amazing guns.
Start at 67gr and go up.
I have been running the 115 nosler for a few years now with amazing success out to 638 yards on a pig. I started at 67 and went up with h1000.
I'm thinking of trying rl33 cause it seems to add speed to my other things running h1000

I've owned more 257wby mags than any other cartridge. Have killed nearly 60 whitetails with one. Awesome cartridge. I think you will find that imr7828ssc will be the best. Start at 70 gn of h1000 for your 110. Start at 67 with 7828. It's funny I've loaded for the 257roy for so long I wrote those starting loads from memory and then found the page you needed. I was only off on the 7828 I thought 66. Bib makes a 110 that has a .520 bc that shoots from 10 twist very good. It's my go to bullet. And the 100 ttsx is my other favorite.
Shep

Attachments

• Screenshot_20200509-230155.png
    Screenshot_20200509-230155.png
    300.2 KB · Views: 117
JohnnyL welcome here! I myself haven't been on this forum for that long myself but am glad I joined, both for the knowledge and moreso the conversation in general with people as crazy (or even far crazier) as I am about the little details and the science of handloading and ballistics - most of the people I actually shoot with or talk in person with aren't all that interested in the kind of things we love to talk about here, only one of my friends even reloads.
I have no .257 experience or Eld x experience so my opinion is nothing but a hunch...
I'd be super curious to see what IMR Enduron 7977 does with your cartridge and bullet.