20" Barrel , .308 Winchester, Heavy Bullet Load Development

pushcoguy

A search didn't turn up the info that I am after... so:

I have no experience loading heavy bullets, or for short barrels. I have a factory Remington 700 .308, with a 20 inch barrel. I wanted to build some hog loads, using a 200gr bullet, but I am not having much success. Using Win748, I don't seem to be getting a consistent and total burn... so I went to a faster powder (I don't have the notes in front of me), but the results were horrible. One problem, I am sure, is that I had been trying to fit these in the magazine. I have conceded that, if I find a good sub-MOA load, it wont fit in the mag; but what do you guys usually do, when stuffing big bullets in the little .308 case... and/or loading for a 20" .308 barrel?

--Thanks in advance--
Richard

I wouldn't worry much about the barrel length, you aren't giving up the farm. I would however want to find out if the twist rate of your barrel is sufficient to stabilize a 200g bullet. You may be seeing the results of an unstable bullet on the target. I have been utilizing the Berger 185 Juggernaut in my 1-11.25" twist 18" barrel auto-loader, 200g bullets group like buckshot out of my rifle. I get reliable magazine feeding and more than acceptable results at 2.800" COAL with the 185g juggernaut and I regularly shoot that bullet and rifle out to 1,000 yards.
In respect to powder, I would suggest that you try working with a temp stable powder. IMR4166, H4895, Varget, or R-16 among others should be suitable for heavy 308 rounds.

Rl-17 has been used for the 200+ grains for years. I first read about it when Montanamarine posted years ago. He used it for 308 & 30-06 with impressive results. Rl-17 is temperature sensitive so use caution with max loads as the temperature increases.

Here is one of his many threads.