zeiss conquest vs. leupold

Jimm

howdy folks, a newbie here,sure do like all the info here.since i cant compare them side by side i thought i might ask if anyone has experience with both the zeiss conquest in 6.5x20x50 vs. leupold 6.5x20x50 lrt.any input appreciated.thanks, jimm

jimm
I looked at both side by side, my 300 WM wears the 6.5x20 Conquest as does my 6.5-284, and as soon as I can save the coin the 243 I'm building is going to wear the 4.5x14 Conquest.
To my eyes the difference was clear, Zeiss hands down. Thats just one guys opinion,I'm sure you'll get more.
Chris

if you have the $$ for Zeiss go with S&B PM II or PM III ( 4-16 ) the turrets and clicks are hands down better.... and from experience so are the optics....

Both are quality glass. I also looked at both and chose the Zeiss. Seemed to be brighter and clearer and eye releif didn't seem as critical on the Zeiss.

Jimm,
I would strongly encourage you to take a look at the IBS or NBRSA 1000 yard and 200 yard equipment lists. You can see them in the match reports in the benchrest newsletters. I am looking at a 1000 yard one right now from a year ago, and there are 20 shooters. 11 of them are running Leupold Vari-XIII 6.5-20x50 LRT's, 2 are running boosted Leupolds, 5 are running Nightforce 5.5-22x56 NXS's, 1 is using a Unertl, and the last guy is using a Weaver t-16.
On one of the 200 yard matches I am looking at has 25 shooters and 20 of them are using various Leupold benchrest models in different magnifications, and the other 5 are using Weavers.