Wyoming Pronghorn Details... Guidance Needed Please

efw

A hunting partner and I have been talking about pronghorn hunting in Wyoming for several years and we have finally gotten serious about doing something in '09.

Our hope had been to fly out to Salt Lk City, rent a car up to the Flaming Gorge Nat'l Rec Area where we'd have camping equipment sent ahead of time. We'd hunt area #95 from a base camp in the campground within the Rec Area, doing an overnight backcountry excursion or two if necessary. Unfortunately I wasn't faithful in my due diligence and according to draw results from this year we'd need 2 preference points to pull a tag there.

We're both purchasing a point (PP) this year, and we know there are great spots for PH all over the state. We're not trophy hunters, so we'd both be happy with a respectable representative head.

Here are our chief considerations in choosing a management area:

1) Ability to get non-resident tag w/ one PP

2) Reasonable (a few hours max) proximity to major airport

3) Ability to pick up equipment sent via USPS or UPS

4) Big tracts of public hunting lands with access to large roadless areas

5) Ability to camp on/near hunting area

If anybody has personal experience with a hunting area that fits this description and would be willing to lend assistance I'd be EXTREMELY grateful. PM me if you'd prefer.

We have never hunted out West at all, so general feedback on this plan would be appreciated as well. If we can't find a spot that is suitable we could just get our second PP next year and know that it'll be on the back burner another year, with a hunt in area #95 reasonably certain in '10.

Thanks a lot y'all,

EFWakeman

Last edited:
Thank you very much; both of these are very helpful in "project management"!