wolf primers

birddog1

new member but have been reading a long time, lots of great info

i have bought ALOT of wolf primers 223small rifle large rifle and large rifle mag.
I am getting mixed reviews locally. Did I make a bad purchase, or are some people closed minded

I was tempted during the primer drought to buy some Wolf primers but had enough to hold me over until others became more available, so I have no personal experience with them. I have heard, however, from some who did start using them that they burn a little cool. "They" also suggested using a magnum primer in place of where you would normally use a standard primer. All you can do is give them a chance and see what your own personal results are. Or just send them to me and I will use them and write you a review. HEE HEE

I've read where a lot of guys are having good results with them. However, I personally have no experience with them.

A year ago when CCI's were hard to get, I bought 4K Wolf small magnum primers for competition guns. I have shot them only in the .223 and 6mmBR, and I like them. No misfires, and my ES seems a bit better. They are about .0005" larger in diameter than other primers and a tad more effort is required to seat them.

I picked up 1000 Wolf small rifle primers several months ago and tried them for the first time today in a 204. Well so far i'm not to impressed. One of the first 5 rounds failed to fire.

Last edited: