wind drift????

flopduster

First off I understand that I am a novice at this. I have been playing the Long range shooting demo on www.shooterready.com tyring to decide if I want to buy it. I can range the targets well enough to get the come-ups for a hit, but can not get the windage. I can call the wind correctly, but can not get the wind deflection converted to MOA. This is suppose to be a shooting simulator not a game. Example: on the first target I range it at 444(it is 420) pull down the chart and adjust up 8.75MOA, The wind is 15mph from 9oclock, the chart says 1.6 inches per 1 mph wind so 1.6 times 15 is 24 inches right?(I know I have to be making a mistake somewhere, I just don't know where) By my calculations 24 inches at 440 yds is 1.55moa, I dial it in and miss. I increase the windage until I get a hit and the correct amount is 4.75moa.
Where am I going wrong??? How does 1.6inches per mph full value wind deflection in a 15mph full value wind equal 4.75moa???

Please help me.
confused.gif
confused.gif
confused.gif
confused.gif

I am NOT the math guy to help you out, but even I can see that your calculation for MOA of 24" at 440 yards is wrong. One MOA at 400 is slightly over 4", call it 4 inches. At 440 lets call it 4.4. Divide 4.4 into 24" to get the MOA.
On the other hand, you could just hold off about two feet and smack that sucker
grin.gif

Lets use a little thing called a engineering reasonableness test.

I once shot in an 18 mph wind at 200 yards using a 3.2moa hold and 300 yards with about 5.3 moa in that wind.

So that gives us a bench mark.

Now you claim 420 yards, wind is 15mph.

Chart says 1.4 x 15 = 25" (not 25moa, but 25inches and I'm wrong.) 24" seems OK. The engineering reasonableness test says that is OK after you divide by 420 yards. I was using a 100 grain SVHP 6.5mm which is a terrible wind bucker. (BC is about .220)

But 4.75 moa seems reasonable. Too many unit systems!