Wildcat ?? Case pressure

hemiford

I'm still learning (a lot) here, I hope this isn't a silly question.

SAAMI rates a given cartridge for max pressure. I'm not familiar
with how this max rating is established, but, there it is.

Question, when you build a wildcat on a given cartridge, are you bound
by the same max pressure ?

I know some manufacturer's brass is more robust than others. So , when
you work up new loads, you cannot directly measure your pressures,
you must go by visible deformation signs on the brass.

Does anyone know if you typically end up at a higher pressure than
the SAAMI rating ?

SAAMI today seems such loose science, and loose standards, that I would not assign any hard credit to it.
Keep in mind also that there are differences between pressure(actual) and pressure problems. Relatively low pressure loading for a BAT actioned .223 could be extreme for a REM actioned .260, and there are many design and reloading factors leading to problems at varying pressures. Then there is viable(for brass life) -vs- safety.
Hence the golden rule: always start low & work up.

For a beginner, a little research for anecdotal results seems more useful than SAAMI listings.

SAAMI today seems such loose science, and loose standards, that I would not assign any hard credit to it.
Keep in mind also that there are differences between pressure(actual) and pressure problems. Relatively low pressure loading for a BAT actioned .223 could be extreme for a REM actioned .260, and there are many design and reloading factors leading to problems at varying pressures. Then there is viable(for brass life) -vs- safety.
Hence the golden rule: always start low & work up.

For a beginner, a little research for anecdotal results seems more useful than SAAMI listings.

+1...