Who’s using a Kuiu pack

Elkeater

I did a search on here and while there are some older threads I can't find much specific recent info on kuiu packs. I was thinking about ordering a icon pro 5200 system and a pro 2200 bag so I can swap bags around depending on if I'm going in for a week or just a day. I like the sling load function idea but am hesitant to spend $500 on a pack.

What's y'alls opinion on kuiu packs? I'm also familiar with kifaru, mystery ranch etc but the kuiu packs a lighter for the most part and ounces equal pounds.

I have been using the kuiu icon pro 3200 for the last 4 years. Been using it for my day pack, for packing in for 2 or 3 days and have used it to pack elk several times. I purchased it because it was lighter than most of the others. I can't say it's better than others because I haven't used any of the mystery ranch, kifaru, or etc. Most of the time I use it as a day pack carrying approx 15 to 25 lbs and I carry it around 60 days per year. It's the only pack that I have carried day in and day out that my shoulders don't bother me. When you get an animal down you can put a quarter between the frame and pack and it works reasonable well. Also had a small problem this past year with the pack. Wasn't anything that rendered the pack useless but was annoying. When I return home called kuiu and had new shoulder straps and hook ups in a few days. They didn't even ask me to return the original parts send pictures or nothing. Only thing they asked was if I needed it shipped over night. Don't know if this helps. Good luck with your decision.

I ran a Kuiu 3200 for several years- it was actually the ULTRA suspension (lighter weight) with the icon pro bag. If you went with a 5200 I wouldn't bother with the smaller bag, just lash down the 5200 well.

My reason for the franken-bag was the pouches and dividers on the IP bag were a MUST for me. The ultra bag is literally just that, a bag, no pouches, pockets, dividers, etc.