Which new binoculars??

tylercleary

I've been using a pair if Nikon action 8X42's for a couple of years now and although I like them I wanting to step up to better optics. I've looked at the Nikon ATB's, both 8 and 10 power; I like them and hear they are the best "bang for the buck". I also stopped and looked at the Zeiss conquest 8 and 10X30's… Wow! I liked them but you don't get as big field of view and although I think they are brighter are they sharper?

I'm partial to the Nikon's, they are such a good value, but I also don't want to have to buy binoculars again for a long time. I haven't heard anyone talk about the conquest bino's? Is there any other pair I should be looking at for the same money? I need to stay around $400.00.

Nikons are a good value...but you might want to consider Swarovski...they are not the only good binoculars out there, but I've seen none better...IMHO... hope this helps...

I agree the Swarovski are top rated. Some of my buddies like the Leica better. Just depends on your eyes and purpose. Do you wear glasses? This makes a tremendous difference in field of view. Eye relief varies from brand to brand, and even same manufacture and models vary greatly. Zeiss are good, but not tops. Depends on your budget, but like everyone says "buy the best you can afford". Just like scopes, you only get what you pay for! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

Leica are the best, but not in your budget.
Zeiss and Swarovski have excellent optics, but i have had problems with models from both fógging internaly.