Which comes first, the chicken or the egg? Charge weight or seating depth…

nksmfamjp

Using your tried and true method, which do you work on first, seating depth or powder charge? I know you may come back to it, but which do you work on first?

Does it matter if it is your long range hunting rig vs short range benchres?

I am far from an expert and a pretty new reloader. However, I get seating depth first (as this dictates case capacity. I then load from minimum load to max load and shoot 3 shot groups to look at group size and shape. I then will confirm a couple groups will repeat and if they do I may tweak seating by much smaller amounts to fine tune group shape.

So I guess … seating first. LOL

Steve

Powder charge first then fine tune the seating depth from there

you ask Brian Litz his process and it involves loading up til he hits pressure signs then dials it back 1-1.5gns and it's all seating depth from there.

He's Won or placed very high in quite a few big matches with that exact process. There's an interview with him about it on YouTube . Really opens your eyes to whats essential in the reloading process and what's not.

I always find my charge weight first. I've heard of people doing seating depth first. I'm sure it can be done either way. I watch my velocity because accuracy nodes at certain velocities are often common from rifle to rifle.

I want to find what max charge is for a bullet, brass & primer combination. That's the very first thing I want to know. Although velocity will probably change with a given charge weight as the barrel gets more rounds, I do like to know what my velocity is at max charge.

I work up my charge weight first. Usually 5 shot groups to get a realistic idea of SD/ES, and I'm generally not looking at group size since I use a Magnetospeed and I can't imagine that doesn't affect my groups at all. Then I do 3 shot groups for seating depth with the charge weight I liked starting at .020" back from jam in increments of .003".